From Where I’m Sitting

So I moved to New York City yesterday. It’s something that millions of people have done in the past, but it still feels so huge and important somehow. I’ve been here for well over 24 hours now, so I figure it’s time to write some first impressions if only to give me something to laugh at a year from now.

I am staying with a friend in the Bronx for now, while I aggressively job hunt (and blog, apparently) and it’s much more neighborhood-y here than I realized. That’s actually been perfect because it’ll help ease me into the city. Had I been thrown downtown first thing I’m guessing my first night would have been a bit rougher.

Today, I took the subway into Manhattan and walked almost 40 blocks because I didn’t want to stop. I was wearing the wrong shoes, and my pinky toes are being overtaken by aggressive blisters as a result, but it was a great day. There is so much to see and smell and do.

I walked around the Upper East Side where everyone wore expensive workout clothes and sunglasses while they walked their tiny dogs. All the buildings had doormen here and I made a lot of weird eye contact.

Then I went to Central Park and saw families and couples and did the best people-watching of my life from a bench in the sun. I made it to 6th Ave and sat in a plaza and this girl sat next to me and struck up a conversation for no apparent reason. She was excited when she found out how new I was, and shamelessly plugged the Metropolitan Museum of Art gift shop where she works.

I saw The Tonight Show building, Rockefeller Plaza, and accidentally went to Times Square but expertly avoided it before it was too late (way too many people.) I walked by myself and felt 100% safe the whole time.

I watched a woman volunteer her seat to a man on the subway who had four young (loud) kids with him, and I saw a little girl who was so excited for her ice cream cone that she jumped as it was handed to her and it fell on the ground. She got a new one.

Every street had a beautiful new view of a hundred new buildings, and I never wanted to stop walking around. It was a pretty tame first full day as far as first full days probably go in New York City, but it was my favorite day.

I’m so excited to be here, and even more excited to be able to tell some of those buildings I saw today apart, to know exactly where to find great coffee, to fearlessly transfer from the 6 train without consulting a subway map, and to be able to say that the city feels like a second home.

Now back to the aggressive job-hunting so I can stay here and have many more days like today. ◊

No urban night is like the night there… Squares after squares of flame, set up and cut into the aether. Here is our poetry, for we have pulled down the stars to our will.”

– Ezra Pound

One thought on “From Where I’m Sitting

Leave a Reply

