A Book I Could Not Put Down

Hello, this morning I finished book #51 of the year. I didn’t really mean to read it so quickly, but any time I tried to put it down I wound up thinking about it nonstop until I started reading again, so two days later and it’s done. It was The Widow by Fiona Barton, and it was incredible.

It also doesn’t come out until March of next year (I’m sorry!) but when it is released, I think everyone should read it. It was a suspenseful mix between The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl, both of which I also loved and also could not put down.

It was especially Girl on the Train-esque because I was never quite sure of any of the narrators. No one seemed like a totally “good” person, so it made it really hard to trust anyone’s story. Which was awesome.

The premise of the novel revolves around a married couple, Glen and Jean Taylor, who become mixed up in the case of Bella Elliott, a young girl gone missing. The narrative is non-linear, which definitely added to the suspense, and switches between the key characters. The reader mostly hears from Jean Taylor (the widow), Bob Sparkes (the lead detective on Bella’s case), and Kate Waters (the reporter covering it all).

There were also chapters thrown in here and there from other important characters like Dawn Elliott, the mother of the missing child, and one crucial chapter from Glen Taylor himself. I really don’t want to give things away, so this is going to be short and mostly uninformative, but in the long run I think you’ll appreciate that.

It was one of those novels that you think you’ll probably be able to figure out, but can’t up until the very end. And it raises some crazy questions about not only how well you can really know someone, but also the extent of what you can choose to acknowledge and ignore in your loved one.

This book was creepy and tense and suspenseful and effective and I loved it. When it comes out soon, everyone should read it and expect that you aren’t going to be able to expect anything from this book full of unreliable and mysterious narrators. ◊

No one wanted to know us now. They just wanted to know about us.”

– page 159

One thought on “A Book I Could Not Put Down

Leave a Reply

