Tina Fey Wins

I am flying through the fifties of this whole book challenge, if I do say so myself. That’s probably because NYC is expensive so the alternative to walking around the city all day and blowing money without even thinking is staying in my apartment and reading between job applications. So that’s what I’ve been doing.

I am done with book #56 of the year, and it was fantastic. I read Bossypants by Tina Fey and I am even more in love with her and her sense of humor than I ever thought possible. There were multiple pause-reading-to-laugh-out-loud moments, always a good sign.

I feel like if I could steal anyone’s sense of humor, it’d be Tina Fey’s. There’s something about her that’s so dry and sarcastic but not mean. She’s just funny. So, by extension, her book was obviously hilarious. It’s a loose journey through her life as a comic, pre- and post-Second City and SNL.

She talks about more than just her career though, and those were some of the funniest parts. She’s a mother (at the time the book was published, she only had one daughter, apparently she had another kid now), and all of her childhood experiences were spun in the typical sardonic Tina-Fey-way.

My favorite chapters tended to include her incredibly sarcastic, scathing beauty tips set up like an overly-cheery CosmoGirl magazine article. My abs actually hurt from laughing at these.

Because she’s so dry and sarcastic, though, she’s also able to slip in a lot of really wise and telling anecdotes about her life in the world of comedy as a woman. The levels of scrutiny that every female comic has to endure are absurd. I overheard a conversation about Amy Schumer recently where some guy (dick) actually said: “It’s like all you have to do to be famous now is being a loud, overweight girl.”

These types of conversations are disheartening for endless reasons, but the fact that every woman has to go through it is especially annoying. Tina Fey (and Amy Schumer and Amy Poehler and Kristen Wiig and Mindy Kaling and Rebel Wilson and Maya Rudolph and every other funny lady to have existed) is funny because she’s funny, not because she’s a “loud, overweight girl.” Idiot.

Oops that was a long, ranting tangent but in Bossypants, Fey was particularly amazing at pointing out the sexism she had experienced in a funny way that importantly brought the issues to light. And her solution often ended up being “who cares?” which is part of what makes her so cool.

So it was a great book that made me want to find all of her SNL clips. I’ve also been toying with the idea of starting 30 Rock recently, and this book may have convinced me. ◊

My mother knew the importance of getting the right fit for a bra, so she took me to JCPenney and tried on on over my clothes.”

– page 104

tina

One thought on “Tina Fey Wins

Leave a Reply

