A Book I Did Not Like

This will be on the shorter side because I just finished book #79 and really did not like it; it was a struggle to get through so I don’t want to dwell on it any longer than I have to. I read You’re Making Me Hate You by Corey Taylor, who happens to be the lead singer of Slipknot.

I don’t like the band Slipknot (their website is terrifying), so you may wonder why I have this book in the first place. It was free. I always lose some of my best judgement when free books are involved.

And it’s not that this book was bad in terms of the writing or anything like that. I’m all for sarcasm and dry humor and making fun of the dumb things people do (I’ve been serving coffee to humans for four and a half years…) but I just don’t think I could live in that hatred of people enough to write an entire book about it, and I didn’t enjoy reading an entire book about it.

The subtitle of the book is “A Cantankerous Look at the Common Misconception That Humans Have Any Common Sense Left.” This book is basically Taylor venting about all the idiots he’s ever known, and what exactly they did (in scathing detail) to make them an idiot.

It seems like it could be funny, but for me it was just too much. It was angry and bitter and Taylor didn’t leave anyone with even a shred of their dignity and he definitely gave no one the benefit of the doubt as he ranted about how they were screwing up. He made some good points, but those didn’t make up for the overall negativity that I hated.

This was the first book this year that I really, really didn’t like though, so I’m happy about those 1/79 odds. ◊

Leave a Reply

